Server Restarts, Network Public and Not Identified, Client Machines Cannot Connect

Posted: October 21, 2015 in Window Server 2012 R2, Windows 2008 Server
Tags: , , ,

Strange Behavior

I first noticed this for a client who had to reboot their server during the middle of the day.  Suddenly, a server that was running just fine, was no longer “visible” to client machines.  They could not connect to shares, could not ping the server, and were seemingly disconnected.  What was even stranger was that the server had no difficulties “seeing” those client machines.  Moreover, I was unable to remote desktop into the server from anywhere.

When I finally got on the computer, I looked at Network and Sharing Center and was shocked to see that the network connection showed Public and the network identification was for an unknown network.  How did that happen, and how could I make that go away?

What Didn’t Work

I tried restarting the server, restarting the router, restarting the switch, restarting the client machines all to no avail.  Then I hit on this:

The Solution

I opened Services and scrolled down to Network Location Awareness.  It was running, but it was set to start automatically.  I changed that to Automatic – Delayed Start, then restarted the service.

Voila.  The network went back to Domain with proper identification and suddenly everybody and everything on the network was connected again.

Seems as though the service did not have enough time to detect the network and set it properly.  I wish I had a great answer for why this starting happening, but I don’t as of yet.  Just happy that the fix was easy and hope it helps you at some point.  Actually I hope it doesn’t which means you don’t have the problem.

I have seen this on one and only one server. It was a 2012 R2, but I have subsequently seen the issue reported (but not solved) for 2008 R2 as well.

Comments
  1. Scott says:

    I had the same issue occur on a 2008r2 server. After some fault finding I changed the network connection from “Public” to “Domain”.

    Like

  2. In my case, I could not change the network connection type to either Private or Domain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

